The most important element of the MoU is that the Republic of South Africa becomes the 53th country to join the Stipendium Hungaricum Scholarship Programme established by the Hungarian government, granting 100 South African students full scholarships to study in English language at one of the 27 public universities in Hungary between. The scholarship programme will run from 2017 to 2019 and focuses on those study areas, where South Africa needs more specialists such as engineering, agriculture, water management and natural science.

Following the signing of the MoU the Embassy of Hungary launched a successful media campaign to promote the opportunity to students all around South Africa.

To find out more about the scholarship, please visit: